CASAC: Collaborations for safe, healthy communities.
 
 
 
 

casac on Facebook 

Contact Your Local Prevention Council


Avon
Suzi Alexe
salexe@town.avon.ct.us

Bloomfield
Pat Maneggia
pmaneggia@bloomfieldct.org

Canton
Sue Saidel
SueSaidel@aol.com

East Granby
Sue Lawshe
SueL@egtownhall.com

Farmington
Nancy Parent
parentn@farmington-ct.org

Granby
AnneMarie Cox
ahcox@granby-ct.gov

Hartford
Kristina Baldwin
Kristina.Baldwin@hartford.gov

Hartland
Laura Hollingsworth
lhollingsworth@hartlandschool.com

Newington
Carol Labrecque
clabrecque@newingtonct.gov

Rocky Hill
Lori Stanczyc
lstanczyc@rockyhillct.gov

Simsbury
Lecours-Beck Mickey
mlecours-beck@simsbury-ct.gov

Suffield
Ernie Petkovich
ern22pet@outlook.com

West Hartford
Joseph Kalache
JoeK@westhartford.org

Wethersfield
Erica Texeira
erica.texeira@wethersfieldct.gov

Windsor
Sarah Maffiolini
Maffiolini@townofwindsorct.com

Windsor Locks
Joseph Griskewicz Jr
jgriskewicz@wlocks.com

 
 

For information on upcoming events, please scroll down on this home page...

Image result for U drive, U text, U pay
“U Drive. U Text. U Pay.” That’s the candid message that will be delivered to all drivers as the Connecticut State Police cracks down on distracted driving with an enhanced enforcement effort from August 2 – 16.

Troopers will ramp up their efforts to “find and fine” violators of the state law that prohibits motor vehicle operators from using hand-held devices while driving. 

Nationwide in 2015, an estimated 3,477 people were killed and 391,000 were injured in motor vehicle crashes involving distracted drivers, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

“Crashes due to cell phone usage are preventable. Keep your eyes on the road and your hands on the steering wheel whenever you are driving.  That incoming text and outgoing phone call can wait.  Focus all of your attention on arriving at your destination safely,” said Commissioner Dora B. Schriro of the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection.

Colonel Alaric J. Fox, commanding officer of the State Police, noted, “Troopers have responded to countless crashes caused by distracted drivers – some of which have ended in fatalities.  The task of driving must have your full, undivided attention. Connecticut State Troopers urge you to put down the cell phone and do not pick it up before you arrive safely at your destination.”

As a reminder, fines for using a mobile phone while behind the wheel in Connecticut are significant: A first offense will cost $150, a second $300, and a third and subsequent offense $500.

The 2017 “U Drive. U Text. U Pay.” Campaign runs through August 16, 2017.





If you think you or someone your care about may have a gambling problem, click here for help.