admin
Alcohol
Local Prevention Councils
Contact
CT RACs
Depression & Suicide
donate
Opioids/Drugs
Espanol
Events
Gambling Addiction News & Information
Inhalants
Legislation
links
marijuana
News
Parents
Professional Training
rightnav
Student Center
Tobacco Addiction
About
adminbottom
Gaming
Local Prevention Council


> Legislation > Connecticut Liquor Laws

Connecticut Liquor Laws

Information provided by the Connecticut Clearinghouse,  a program of the Wheeler Clinic.

For more information, please contact the Connecticut Coalition to Stop Underage Drinking, a program of the Governor's Prevention Partnership - www.preventionworksct.org

SUMMARYPUBLIC ACT/STATUTE
PENALTY
Possession of Alcohol by Minors
  
Prohibits possession of alcohol by minor on both public and private property
Sec. 30-89b


Sec. 14-111
1st offense: $181 fine
Subsequent offenses: A fine up to $500

Subject to a 150-day suspension of motor vehicle license. If not licensed, must wait additional 150 days after eligible for license.
Prohibits possession by minor of liquor in a motor vehicle
Sec. 14-111a
Subject to a 60-day suspension of motor vehicle license
Sale or Provision of Alcohol to Minors
  
Prohibits permittee or agent of permittee from selling or delivering liquor to minor
*includes internet sales
Sec. 30-86
Up to 1 year in prison, and/or fine up to $1,000
Prohibits anyone from allowing minors to possess alcohol or "host" underage drinking parties PA. 06-112
1st offense: $146 fine
Subsequent offenses: Up to 1 year in prison and/or fine up to $500
Prohibits anyone giving or delivering liquor to a minor
Sec. 30-86
Up to 18 months in prison, and/or fine up to $1,500
Prohibits permittee or employees from allowing minors to loiter on premises where liquor is kept for sale, or where liquor is served at a bar. Sec. 30-90
Up to 1 year in prison and/or fine up to $1,000
Permits holders of cafe permits to create "juice bars," meaning an area of a liquor establishment where nonalcoholic beverages are sold to minors

Requires that cafe permit holders notify local police in advance of date when "juice bar" will be made available
 Sec. 30-85
Up to 1 year in prison and/or fine up to $1,000
Prohibits the sale, purchase or possession of alcohol without liquid (alcohol vaporization) machines
PA. 06-95
Up to 6 months in prison, and/or fine up to $1,000 
Fake/False Identification   
Prohibits the misrepresentation of age or committing deception to obtain identity card, or using another's card Sec. 30-88a


Sec. 14-111e
Up to 30 days in prison, and/or fine up to $500

Subject to a 150-day suspension of motor vehicle license. If not licensed, must wait additional 150 days after eligible for license.
Prohibits purchase, attempt to purchase or making false statements to procure
Sec. 30-89
A fine up to $500
Prohibits willfully misrepresenting age on an age statement
Sec. 30-86a
1st offense: $100 fine
Subsequent offenses: $250 fine
Possession of a keg without the proper required identification tag

Providing false identification on keg registration receipt
Sec. 30-115
Up to 3 months in prison and/or fine up to $500
 Youth DUI (Zero Tolerance)
  
 Prohibits minors from operating a motor vehicle if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is higher than .02
Sec. 14-227g
1st offense: Up to 6 months in prison with 48 hours of community service, and/or fine up to $1,000 (subject to a 90 day suspension of license)

2nd offense: Up to 2 years in prison with 120 days of community service, and/or fine up to $4,000 (subject to a 9-month suspension of driver's license)

3rd offense: Up to 3 years in prison with 1 year of community service, and/or fine up to $8,000 (subject to a 2-year suspension of driver's license)
 
> Legislation > Connecticut Liquor Laws
Home - admin - Alcohol - Local Prevention Councils - Contact - CT RACs - Depression & Suicide - donate - Opioids/Drugs - Espanol - Events - Gambling Addiction News & Information - Inhalants - Legislation - links - marijuana - News - Parents - Professional Training - rightnav - Student Center - Tobacco Addiction - About - adminbottom - Gaming - Local Prevention Council